Short Story 50

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by inayat, May 11, 2023.

1. inayat

inayat Head Game Master Moderator

I lay on a table next to a roaring fire. My hands were bound, and I was surrounded by figures in black robes. The beautiful young woman who looked like she was still in her teens approached me holding a nasty-looking knife encrusted with jewels.

“Please don’t do this,” I said.

She flashed a wicked grin and raised the knife over me, holding her breath for a moment before she plunged it toward my chest.

Twelve hours earlier…

I’d never been a big fan of trucks. Why I drove one for a living was beyond me. I think it started out like so many other things. You just think you’ll do it for a while and the next thing you know ten years have passed and you’re still doing the same thing.

If this story was just about letting time slip away because I was too scared or too complacent to make a change, this would be a very boring story indeed. But it’s not.

There are many people who see things they shouldn’t or more to the point who see things they wish they hadn’t. Most of these people make a choice to bury the forbidden memory deep in their subconscious and never think of it again. They cope through any number of methods including drugs, alcohol, or other means. If they can’t cope with it they leave a note, a grieving family, and a lot of questions.

One of the reasons they choose not to tell anyone about their experience is being labeled. Crackpot, conspiracy theorist, lunatic, those are some of the nicer things these unfortunate souls get called. Then there’s the censoring and blacklisting. Oh, it’s all very subtle so as not to be discovered. But that doesn’t make it any less real.

My story started on a bright, sunny day when it seemed like nothing could possibly go wrong.

That should’ve been my first clue.